Tuesday, May 17, 2022
SportBurns winner sends Killough through to Easter Monday final

Burns winner sends Killough through to Easter Monday final

A GOAL in the 80th minute from Cillian Burns secured Killough’s place in Easter Monday’s NFU Mutual Harry Clarke Cup final. It will be their seventh appearance in the final having been successful in 2007, 2013 and 2019 and runners-up in 1991, 2004 and 2010. Friday’s semi-final at Ballyhornan was nip and tuck with six goal shared before the hour mark. Two of goal came in the first half, Burns putting Killough ahead after eight minutes and James Mahoney replying 14 minutes later. In an action packed 10 second half minutes each side scored twice. Connor Kelly put Killough back in front in the 51st minute but Mahoney levelled it up three minutes later. Strangford took the lead for the first time in the 57th minute through Callum Shields but just two minutes later Gareth George tucked away a penalty to make it 3-3. A week earlier Ballynagross and Castlewellan Forest were also locked at 3-3 in their semifinal. Ballynagross needed penalties to get through that one but Killough took the direct route with Burns getting the winner with 10 minutes remaining. Killough: James Crangle, Riain Burns, Leo Murphy, Eamon Gargan, Sean Og Burns, Declan Burns (Tony McIlhone 68), Connor Kelly, Gareth George, Daniel Taggart (Conor Doyle 77), Cillian Burns, Declan Looney. Subs not used: Calum Treacy, James Hanna, Ruairi Sharvin. Strangford: Ryan McDowell, Stefan McGrattan, Daniel Kelly, Thomas Fitzsimons, Louis McMullan, Fionn McFall. Shea Savage, Conall Magee, Conal Fitzsimmons, James Mahoney, Callum Shields. Subs: Luke Reilly, Christian Vaughan, Michael Shields, Russell Swail, Dale Curran.

Subscribe Today

Read the full article.

Full story inside this week’s print edition or Login/subscribe to access our Digital Edition & App

More articles

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this. You can find out more and learn how to manage cookies by clicking the 'More Info' link.